*Names in this story have been changed as to avoid absolute embarkment, seriously it's bad enough I'm even writing this on the internet.
So here I am with a name. After the time it took to find his name I reward myself with a quick look though his profile. I find nothing out of the ordinary aside from a large chunk of things in common.
Days, maybe weeks pass with no new information. Around this time I believe it is October, I have friends and I head over to their room. When I enter their building I see
their faces, I was far from subtle but I made it to my friends room in one piece.
It isn't safe to assume that this is were our crushes, *Dylan and *James, our crushes, live. I had friends in this building why couldn't they? I just did what any normal person would and asked the friend I was with if this is where they live.
Confirmed.
She asked why and I told the truth, I thought one was cute.
So now we, Jana and I, had a place of residence, you can see how it started off innocent enough. Now this is where the change of mind started.
We saw these freaking kids EVERYWHERE! Everywhere. They were freaking there.
We keep to a fairly consistent schedule, eat at the same time, leave at the same time, etc. Since my schedule is the same it isn't hard to see a pattern when you start to see a person. By this time I wasn't changing my life in order to see him, it just happened organically.
Now to get blunt, it was November when we realized this wasn't heading in the most healthy direction. We liked these kids, and the occasion glance at a facebook wall turned into a well organized periodic checking. We weren't quite subtle with our new found megacrushes and soon our suit mate and a few friends where clued in. I tried to hide the extent of my unqualified feelings but I don't know how thick the veil honestly was.
The thing is, once outside people are aware of a crush they feel the need to tell you things without you asking. We were being told things like what class they had with a friend, what a friend of mine heard them talking about in the rotunda, things I didn't ask for. Unfortunately they were only adding fuel to the already oddly hot fire. By the time winter break came around there was no dissolution to my affection.
The incident
I am a Sims3 player, ask anybody who has ever played sims what they do when they have a crush.
They make them on Sims.
Don't deny it, it only makes you an easy to spot lier. I was making *Jack on sims and to do so accurately I wanted to have a picture of him up. I am painfully bad at spelling and at the time I didn't have his first and last name spelling committed to my memory. To get around this flaw I just went to *Dylan's profile and clicked on Jack's tag to bring up his profile. (This sound like a lot of work, but honestly I had it pretty down pat at this point. So, I was on Facebook mobile doing my routine and I feel victim to a huge design flaw. The 'Like' bottom and the close button and right the heck next to each other.
You can guess what happened.
I liked Dylan's Mo-Freaking picture.
This was like midnight, I had made a joke about it, maybe half an hour earlier. Karma is a cold, pasty, douche.
Obviously I unliked it in .4 seconds but the damage was done. Once you like somebodies status, they are sent a notification that you can never get back. I tested the theory with Jena and we were correct. Whenever he logged on there in big letters would be:
"Brieanna Ramthun liked your photo"
It would take you to the photo that I liked but my name just wouldn't show up. But honestly with the work I barley had to put in to find it, how hard would it be to put my name in the search bar to fulfill his curiosity?
I don't know if you know remember this little fact but I have
never spoken to this dude ever. We don't even have one mutual friend, it's that bad. Tell the truth if a stranger you have never spoken to 'liked' a photo you'd be creeped to the max.
Panic set it quick. If he clicked that notification he would be brought to my page and see that I'm the girl he just kinda see's all the time. I could not let that happen.
I deactivated my Facebook.
Yes it was a hasty choice, but honestly I could see no other way. What would happen then would be, it would say I liked his photo and when he went to go click on my profile and nothing would be there. No pictures, nothing. It would say this account has deactivated.
I agree, that adds another level of creepy BUT I would like to state again:
Midnight
panicing BAD!
At least he wouldn't be able to put a face with the name and my life still had a chase of returning to normal.
I deactivated it for a few days, long enough to assume he looked and didn't find anything. Then turned it back on.
Time passed and nothing happened so I went off to swing break, little did I know the prices that would come later.